Karine Sjøberg (34) takes part in 3 km on wheels!

On Friday 16 September, 34-year-old Karine Sjøberg from Os outside Bergen is ready to participate in the distance of 3 km on wheels! Karine was 27 when she was diagnosed with CMT (Charcot-Marie-Tooth), an inherited and rare congenital neuromuscular disease that affects the nerves in the outermost parts of the body, such as the arms and legs.

- There are many variants of it, I have 1b and this variant basically only affects the legs. In my case, it gives me, among other things, poor balance, reduced sense of touch from the knees down, exhaustion and daily pain. Although she was not diagnosed with the disease until her 20s, she has been plagued by wiggling of her feet and slightly worse balance than others throughout her upbringing.


Karine is ready for 3 km on wheels on Friday 16 September!

Active in a wheelchair

As a teenager, she was not particularly fond of working out and being outside, but she has found that joy as an adult.

- Activity gives me joy and energy! I love going for walks in the woods and fields, and I also have a three-wheeled bicycle that I use in the summer. Last year I got my first wheelchair as I can no longer walk as far on hard surfaces such as asphalt and the like.

In May, she attended the "Active in a wheelchair course" at the Beitostølen Health Sports Centre, where she learned how to become really safe in the chair and how to use it in a correct and energy-saving way.

- In addition, we were introduced to various activities, such as wheelchair pegging, which I have also started a little with.

3 on wheels will be Karine's very first race, and her advice to others who are also starting for the first time?

- If you want to try it out, do it! Jump in it!





Age: 45

Residence: Bærum

Distance during the BMW Oslo Marathon 2020:
I run half, and of course aim to have the widest smile all the way.

Previous participation in the Oslo Marathon:
«10 for Grete» 2013, Half Marathon 2014 and 2015, 2017 and 2018 and marathon in 2019.

Three words that describe me:
Outgoing, Smiling, Energetic

Instagram: @muddylicious